My First Roll of FILM!


I bought my first roll of Film! So excited! Haha.. So happy to find that there’s a place in Wangsa Maju that still sells film and develop film. It’s quite near to my hostel so it’s convenient for me if i were to develop my film. It’s call Foto Mega in Desa Setapak just behind the Wangsa Maju LRT station. This is the link to the blog run by them – http://evanhsw.blogspot.com/p/faq_04.html.

There are many choices of film in the market actually, such as Colour Negative/Print Film, Colour Positive/Reversal/Slide Film or B&W Film. Each has different ASA/ISO value (American Standards Association / International Organization of Standardization) indicating different Film Speed.

“Why did you choose Fujifilm Superia 200 then?” you asked. Well, answer is just very simple… Because it’s the cheapest i could find in the store! Kekekez… It still cost me RM9.50/roll though. This is only my first roll of film, i do not wish to spend so much for making errors and for the sake of just experimenting and practice.

Using a Rangefinder and Manual camera is not as easy as DSLR where you could just hold down the button and shoot like a machine gun without a care in the world as the camera will handle everything for you. It’s not uncommon that beginner in film will make mistakes for their first few rolls, it’s inevitable. (or just an excuse for me to make mistakes la… hee..)

**Estimation cost for ONE photo**

RM9.50 (cheapest roll of film in the store) + RM14 (Developing & Scanning into CD) = RM23.50

RM23.50 / 36 exposures per film (means you could get 36 photos in a roll of film) = RM0.65

Conclusion: It’s around RM0.70 for a piece of photo!

I used to shoot around 800 photos a day with a DSLR during my trip. If i were to use film to shoot, it will cost me RM560 (800 x RM0.70) just for a day of shoot!! I’m gonna have to fast and save hard from now on.. Of course which IDIOT will shoot that much with film (unless you are darn Rich!).

I plan to shoot just a roll/month for practicing/experimenting/exploring/art creating purposes only. A very specialize use i would say (noble excuses for a Poor man.. hehe..). So in another word, i would have to save RM0.80 everyday to process a roll of film (RM23.50/30). Still quite reasonable right…

Well, hope i would not give up so easily and try my best to learn and fully utilize the potential of a Rangefinder and film camera.  Wish me luck then.. 🙂

The Box

The Film Canister

Film Cartridge

This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Roll of FILM!

  1. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on each time a
    comment is added I recieve four emails with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is a means you are able to remove me from that
    service? Thank you!

  2. Mathew says:

    Your post, “My First Roll of FILM! | N-DreW” ended up
    being truly worth commenting on! Just needed to point out you did a terrific job.
    Thanks for your effort ,Aida

Leave a Reply

