Fear God and Keep HIS Commandments


” So King Solomon surpassed all the kings of the earth in riches and wisdom” – 1 Kings 10:23.

Once the wisest King that has walked the surface of earth also fallen at the end due to his turnover from the Lord his GOD and worship other gods instead, led astrayed by his many wives.

He ended the book of Ecclesiastes with this final conclusion:

Fear God and keep His Commandments,

For this is man’s all. 

For God will bring every work into judgement,

Including every secret thing,

Whether good or evil. – Ecclesiastes 12:13-14

These two verses act as a very strong reminder to me. It is like GOD is actually giving out the warning in a stern and firm voice towards me.

I have to confess that i am weak. I tend to be easily swayed and lacking in self-discipline. Whenever i’ m not in watch, i thought what i did will not be noticed and it does not give any immediate consequences or effect unto me.

But i was WRONG!! Tho i may not face the consequences or brought unto judgement now, but i’ll still have to face GOD one day! As Solomon mentioned, God will bring everywork into judgement, every secret thing, be it good or evil!!! It simply means that i got no where to hide as GOD watches every single act of mine! When i thought there is no one there to watch over me, GOD is just right beside me watching me tight!!

I’ve already can’t imagine how embarass i would be when GOD pointed out each and every of my dirty deeds in front of me!! Where else could i hide!!

Therefore in order to avoid that from happening, i must be cautious of every action of mine because i know it will be taken into account for judgement! When you thought nobody know….you are wrong! GOD knows very well!! 

This would also help to serve a better testimony to the people around me. Imagine if i preach to everybody else and yet i myself did not practise it…how hypocrite would i be?!! As a Christian, as the children and servant of GOD, our testimony are so important as it could simply reflect who our GOD is. It’s just like how you could imagine the character of the father through his son’s behaviour. We are suppose to make our Father proud but not asshamed HIM!!

Lord, i pray that you would grant me the wisdon and strength to keep my way pure. Help me so that i will continue to meditate on your words and carve it deep down my heart and remember it, practise it. For i am weak, and without you i know i will surely fall unto the darkest pit. Help me to be fearful and keep your commandment well as i know one day i shall be brought forward to face YOU! And there, i could hide no more!! Pray in Jesus name, Amen.

This entry was posted in Lectio Divina. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

